Happiness is a bowl of fresh berries

Standard
Courtesy of N.G

Courtesy of N.G

Oh, gosh! My room’s a mess
I am in a total distress.

The cat’s done another ‘oopsie’
Do it again, feline, and you’ll get a ‘whoopsie’.

Dog, the obedient, doesn’t dare,
Have already given him an icy stare.

Laptop, again, conked out
For that I give a nasty shout.

Telly’s on the blink
Uff, I just cannot think.

Window shutters are rattling
The latches are battling.

I surrender, and flop on to my bed
Staring at the ceiling, I rest my head.

I wonder, and ponder, and, thrice, wonder
I think, and think, and simply wonder.

The walls begin to close in, I feel suffocated
What? Is the ceiling collapsing, am I intoxicated?

Perhaps pixies, gremlins and the mischievous fairy
Have caused all this havoc ? Help! They’re out to get me?

Ye gods, I don’t trust them nor their pixie dust
With that magic, they can do a lot…they got guts.

So, out the room, I pronto jump, in total distress
Down the stairs, I whizz, gosh, am I in a mess!

Breathe, breathe, my guru yoga always instructed
Beneath the tree I now sit, feeling a wee bit protected.

When stress spills over and the worries don’t abate
It’s because the system needs a break, so it’s time to meditate.

Be happy, don’t worry! Let not tensions nest in your head
Forget the past, trust the future, and in the present, walk on ahead.

Indeed, breathe in, breathe out…inhale, exhale – repeat
And if like me, you find a berry on the bush nearby – eat!

Happy strawberries, blueberries, cherries and blackberries
Pick and pluck what you love. My happy heart’s in raspberries!

Maloquacious Β© 2015

One response »

  1. I like grapes, myself, though I don’t know whether or not they’re technically berries, even if they’re little. Anyway, stress is no fun, but when I stop and think about it, many problems don’t seem so big, after all. They seem big in the moment, but if we just step back, we can figure out how to fix them, and then everything’s fine again. Anyway, nice poem.

    Like

Aww, thank you for leaving a comment.. Bless you!

