I thank ye, kind sir, Bunny, for your time and for your ears

Standard
Courtesy of F.M-G

Courtesy of F.M-G

Come sit with me, please do, dear bunny, beneath the shade
For that is where, I do believe, all hopes and dreams are made.
With you, beside me, I know, will I have the utter strength
To share, declare and, earnestly, gabbing all, at length.

So,
Rabbit, my sweet, lend to me, your flappy ears, please do,
There’s much to say, before you play, pray, sit – ’tis just us two.

I do not wish, oh yes, I don’t, for any fame or glory,
Nor for threads of silver, no golden needles – no, not me!
Sprawling lawns, chandeliered mansions? I have no desire, nay
Diamonds, rubies….ah, the jewels, perhaps…but, NO – no way!

What I want…what I really want…really, really want
With all my heart, deep in my soul, and this I truly want..
Is a moment with my dad and bro, how precious and how priceless, yes,
Their gentle embrace; heartwarming smiles and the kindness in their eyes.

For now they fly high among the angels, their souls both shining bright,
Left me with a casket, ’tis filled with regal, treasured riches, ever so rare,
It holds their love, their goodness, those virtues pure and oh-so right!
Ah, I am rich, beyond all measures, by their legacy extraordinaire.

So,

I thank ye, kind sir, Bunny, for your time and for your ears,
I wish you well, and hope you find that cabbage, you hold so dear!

Maloquacious Β© 2015

2 responses »

  1. This poem was quite beautiful. I had a dream once where I was given a chance to see one of my cats again. I will always remember that dream. It is those we love, family, friends, and pets, too, that are far more valuable than anything else. After losing many pets to illness in recent years, I know more than ever how valuable spending time with those I care about is.

    Liked by 1 person

Aww, thank you for leaving a comment.. Bless you!

