Travails of a Time Traveller

Standard

Courtesy of S.M

As the sun’s rays glitter through swaying boughs, I watch the leaves bow in reverence at the majesty of the splendid day. All around, the radiance dances its shimmering swirls and twirls like devout dervishes in hypnotic trance.

I am mesmerised.

Ah, if only I could sit and watch this enchanting display of worship and adoration to the mighty Creator. Everyone and everything bows in gratitude – acknowledgement of His greatness.

But, I have no time. I cannot afford to dawdle for I have too much to do. I am a Time Traveller. In haste, in rush, I always am. Chop-chop.

I’m busy, too busy. Got no time. Too absorbed in the nitty gritty of life, I always am. ..Keeping up with the Joneses. ..Catching up with the rat race. ..Rubbing shoulders with the top brass. I want this; I want that. I must do this; I must do that. I desire more. And more and more. The list becomes endless.

Sigh.

Alas, such is the life of many! But at the end of our Journey, will any of this matter? Our mansion? Bank balance? Crystal ware? Silverware? Jewels?

Who will be in awe of all this? Will we be rewarded for our possessions? Will the angels be impressed? Moreover, will He be pleased with us? Think about that.

Pause. Ponder. Reflect.

At birth, we enter empty handed. On death, we depart, also, empty handed.

So…therefore, …

When the realisation finally dawns, what really matters, is how well and productively we lived the ‘dash’ – the life duration in this world.

In spite of adversities and despite evil temptations, we are here to enhance our souls’ growth. To better ourselves. To understand the true meaning of life. In short, toss out ugly materialism. Rid yourself of envy, jealousy, selfishness, dishonesty and every negative emotion.

Instead, embrace spirituality. Take a firm grasp of truthfulness, integrity, humility and gratefulness. Improve your soul by being good, doing good, thinking good, and most vital, always keep in your mind, heart, body and soul, the mention of His blessed glory.

No matter what bricks and bats, sticks and stones befall you, persevere and endeavour to transform into a beautiful, joyful soul of love, humility and compassion. God speed.

I conclude with a favourite poem of mine…

Image via the web

Image via the web

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Maloquacious © 2015

3 responses »

  1. I used to rush about, and I have recently realized the merits of doing absolutely nothing. Why rush around trying to get this done or that, to accomplish this or earn money for that. Sometimes, it is nice to just sit by the pond and feed the birds and take in the tranquility of nature. All that we strive for is going to end one day, and we’ll only regret all that we missed out on. I realized that I was always too “busy” for my pets, and now they’re gone. I now have a new cat, and I make sure I take time out of my day to play with her or simply carry her around. That is time I won’t ever feel was wasted.

    I love that poem, too.

    Liked by 1 person

Aww, thank you for leaving a comment.. Bless you!

