Stop and smell the flowers

Standard
Courtesy of L.S

Courtesy of L.S

“When you take a flower in your hand and really look at it, it’s your world for the moment. I want to give that world to someone else. Most people in the city rush around so, they have no time to look at a flower. I want them to see it whether they want to or not.”  ~ Georgia O’Keeffe

Courtesy of F.M-G

Courtesy of F.M-G

IMG_4419

Courtesy of S.Q

 

 

 

I spent my childhood in England. Lovely memories! Vivid is the memory of the floral beauty there—daffodil, bluebell, chrysanthemum, sweet pea, geranium, foxglove, hydrangea, carnation, to name just a few. Happily, I can still picture the garden.

Courtesy of S.M

Courtesy of S.M

It’s a warm, sunny day. The flowers are flourishing. Bumblebees buzz among the petals and beautiful butterflies flit from bloom to bloom. Enhancing this delightful experience further, is the sweet fragrance of the different flowers.

Courtesy of M.A.Q

Courtesy of M.A.Q

But, alas, so many of us are forever dashing here and there, in a perpetual frenzy to reach our destinations that we don’t stop to take in the floral beauty that surrounds us. Carrying brollies and bags, we even fail to notice the gentle breeze which transports the sweet scent everywhere.

If we could just pause, a little while to relax. Take note of the splendid greenery…the flowers…trees and the verdant grass. Then inhale. Exhale. What a different (and better) person we would be! We would be more appreciative of God’s wonderful blessings. And, truly grateful to Him for His miracles.

Knowing how much I love flowers (doesn’t everyone?), my beloved friends from all over the world shared with me photos of  their gorgeous gardens. Bless ’em, the dear souls!

Now, through my blog , I am sharing a few of the photos.

Enjoy!

Courtesy of F.M-G

Courtesy of F.M-G

Remember to also, think of happy, positive thoughts. Focus on your breathing. Inhale. Exhale. All the while, smiling. God bless!

 

 

Maloquacious © 2014

 

 

 

6 responses »

  1. We spent yesterday at “The Garden for Sculpture” in Hamilton, New Jersey. I’ll write my next post about it. There was one display of tall, colorful flowers that were so spectacular that I though they were sculpted rather than real. When I touched one and discovered it WAS real I was determined to find out what it is. After the holiday weekend I hope to can the garden and speak to the horticulturist in charge to find out it’s name…

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes, Ronnie, some flowers are absolutely gorgeous! The hue of the petals and the gentle fragrance of the blooms are both enchanting and fascinating. This is another one of God’s treasured miracles! Stay happy, God bless. 🙂

      Like

  2. Those are really nice photos. I used to have a little garden. I would pluck any plant I could find and plant them in this pot, and they grew so big. The flowers and clover overflowed the pot, while there were these tall things that likely grew six feet high and more. Then, we moved, and I could never again keep a plant alive if my life (or its, of course) depended on it.

    It is indeed nice to stop now and then and really look at things. You can discover so many things you used to simply pass by.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Exactly, Duck! We all need to go gently in life and savour the amazing wonders of God.So glad you enjoyed the pretty flowers that I have posted. God bles, keep smiling. 🙂

      Like

Aww, thank you for leaving a comment.. Bless you!

