I shall pass this way but once

Standard
Courtesy of F.MG

Courtesy of F.MG

 

“I shall pass this way but once; any good that I can do or any kindness I can show to any human being; let me do it now. Let me not defer or neglect it, for I shall not pass this way again.”
ETIENNE DE GRELLET

I deeply adore this quote but it makes me sad. It is poignant. I feel a little apprehensive. And I wonder. Wonder about…

..did I really do my best?

..was I truthful in my endeavours?

..was I a genuine friend?

..was I sincere in my intentions?

..did I honestly help the needy?

..was I compassionate to the poor?

..did I play my part in assisting the less fortunate?

..was I a good, caring sibling?

..was I a dutiful daughter, and a devoted mother?

..was I gentle and tolerant towards my old parents?

..did I step softly with humbleness on the earth?

..did I truly shun pride and arrogance?

..was I grateful, with all my heart, for His each and every blessing?

..did I remember Him daily?

..was His remembrance forever etched in my heart, mind, body and soul?

Seconds tick by. I pause to reflect. And I wonder..

…. Did I really do my best? My utmost best?
…. Did I embrace His teachings correctly?

…. But only at the end of my journey, will I come to know.

Therefore..

I beg You, guide me in Your way,

My head is bowed, my eyes flow with tears,

I implore Your help! To You, I earnestly plead!

Empower me with Your love, and eradicate my fears.

Amen.

Maloquacious © 2014

5 responses »

  1. So true. We can’t put off doing good things because, once we miss an opportunity, it’s gone forever. We have to do good things before it’s too late and we regret all the things we didn’t do. I worry I haven’t helped people nearly as much as I should. I always think I’ll do it someday, but someday there won’t be anymore someday’s.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ah yes, Duck, many of us have your same kind of thinking. We feel there is always a tomorrow for the things that we put off today. Later, we regret. The time is today and the moment is right now! Thank you for reading.. God bless. 🙂

      Like

Aww, thank you for leaving a comment.. Bless you!

