I’m a flower-happy kinda gal!

Standard
Courtesy of S.Q

Orchids. Courtesy of S.Q

From childhood I have loved flowers. I remember visiting parks, botanical gardens, florists and just taking in all the splendid sights and fragrances. What joy!

You might just say that I’m a flower-happy kinda gal!

Indeed, I’m one among the many who adore them. No matter how blue one’s feeling, simply look at flowers and your whole world turns pink and rosy.

So it is no wonder we give flowers to those who are sick. A hospital room appears more cheerful with floral arrangements placed by a window or on a shelf.

Of course, new mommies and babes are embraced with flowers galore.

Ailing children are given a warm hug with pretty blooms.

Beautiful bouquets are graciously presented to friends as they settle in their new home , adding much to their happiness.

On her big day, a bride clutches a bunch of flowers, enhancing the beauty of her bridal gown. An Eastern bride entwines fragrant flowers in her hair, and sits atop a tastefully decorated stage , displaying exquisite blooms.

Birthdays are yet another occasion for flowers. Roses are popular. Just one or a whole bunch of them are, equally, heartily accepted. After all, it’s the thought that counts!

Say it with flowers. Brighten up mum’s day. Thank a sibling for always being there. Appreciate a colleague. Value a neighbour, a friend, a spouse. Certainly, the language of flowers is understood by all. N’est-ce pas?

Take a peek at some of my favourite quotes on flowers…

“The earth laughs in flowers.”

~ Ralph Waldo Emerson

“The violets in the mountains have broken the rocks.”

~ Tennessee Williams, Camino Real

“I must have flowers, always, and always.”

~ Claude Monet

Yes, my thoughts exactly!

Maloquacious © 2013

10 responses »

    • Wow, Duck, you know an awful lot about flowers! I’ve heard of orchids and, I too, love them. But Dutchman’s breeches sounds rather intriguing…must search for it on the net.. 😀

      Like

  1. Another beautiful post, Mal! I just checked out that link — I’d never heard of the language of flowers. So cool. I am fascinated by secret languages and codes and found that wikipedia page really interesting. And you are so right! Flowers do bring out the happy. Of course I had to look up daisies on that little chart (per my blog title, they’re my favorite) and I was glad to see they had a good meaning! Except for the Shakespearian interpretation… but I’ve never been a huge Shakespeare fan anyway. Hope your day is filled with flowers! 🙂

    Like

    • Aww, thanks so much, Melissa, and am so glad you enjoyed reading all about the language of flowers….you’re oh-so right, it’s fascinating! I’m over the moon to have you back, dear friend.. 🙂

      Like

Aww, thank you for leaving a comment.. Bless you!

