A smiley a day keeps Grumpy away

Standard

Alpha likes hazelnut ice-cream. I like smilies.. ๐Ÿ™‚

A smiley by Pumbaa, drawn using a text editor.

Image via Wikipedia

Bravo likes blueberry muffins. I like smilies.. ๐Ÿ˜€

Charlie likes steak โ€˜n chips. I like smilies.. ๐Ÿ˜†

So now you know everything you wanted to know about me but were afraid to ask. ๐Ÿ˜› I’m just bombastically crazy about smilies. Full stop.

Exactly, what is a smiley?

The Oxford Dictionary tells us the meaning of ‘smiley’ – It is a simple picture of a smiling face that is drawn as a circle with two eyes and a curved mouth.

It goes on to say that these symbols are used in email or text messages to show that the person sending the message is pleased or joking. ๐Ÿ˜ฎ

Wiktionary says that smiley means cheerful and happy; smiling.

Whereas Wikipedia enlightens by giving us the added information that the smiley first appeared in 1963.

Never one to miss a party, Google goes one step further and offers a delightfully madding display of these dazzling beauties right here.. ๐Ÿ˜Ž

These zany yellow smilies are featured with big grins, cheeky winks, dark shades, ๐Ÿ‘ฟ devilish ears, green-eyed :mrgreen: , teary-eyed and boggle-eyed. ๐Ÿ˜ฏ Among my favourites is the one with two little red hearts on the forehead. Look it up, check it out. Too cute.

Wow, what a variety! ๐Ÿ™„ It befuddles the mind and casts a spell of magical wonder. To borrow Ken Doddโ€™s phraseology โ€“ โ€˜How tickled I am!โ€™ by these charming stylized representation of a smiling human face, commonly represented as a yellow (many other colours are also used) circle (or sphere) with two black dots representing eyes and a black arc representing the mouth.

Make this a happy world – share the happiness, send a smiley!

So whether you are a mountain climber or an Arctic explorer, there’s a smiley face waiting right here for you…just take your pick.. ๐Ÿ˜‰

However, I do (albeit, rather grudgingly) agree that there are some people out there who simply canโ€™t stand the smiley. ๐Ÿ˜ก They avoid typing out the colon and the bracket. Heaven forbid, that they should ever be seen with a yellow smiling emoticon emblazoned in their writingsโ€ฆoh gawdie, that is a definite no-no.. โ—

Let me tell you now about my dear friend. I must mention here that Smiley is not his favourite character, but then neither is Papa Smurf. However, one day a miracle happened. I got my friend to type out, not just one but several smilies in his email. Aha, victory! Right back atcha, mate, a great big smug smile/grin.. ๐Ÿ˜€

The following is a gist of the messages which swung back and forth in cyberspace. Kindly make note that in order to protect his identity, sanity and shame ๐Ÿ˜ณ , my friend’s name has been changed. Read on.

George Clooney: I enjoyed the joke. Very funny! (lol)

Me: Youโ€™re welcome..ย  ๐Ÿ™‚

George Clooney: I didn’t disappoint then?

Me: Disappoint? On the contrary………you never cease to amaze me, pal!!! ๐Ÿ™‚

George Clooney: LOL!!!!

Me: But……..and there is always, always a ‘but’….if I could just get you to type out a little, just a wee one mind you…..a little SMILEY face!!!! You never use emoticons…pal! ๐Ÿ™‚

George Clooney: :):):)

Me: Nooooooo!!! Wrong, wrong, oh-so wrong, mister!!!!!!!!!!!ย  ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ย  …..correct! ๐Ÿ™‚ย  Men!! *Mal rolls eyes*

George Clooney: LOL!!!ย ย  I can just imagine the eye roll!!!!!!!!!

Conclusion: Sigh. GC is over generous with LOL and extremely miserly with the smilies.. ๐Ÿ˜ฅ

OD’d on the exclamation marks? Guilty as charged. The both of us, alas..ย  ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

Well, at least I introduced him to Smiley. Papa Smurf will just have to wait. They do say, once in a blue moonโ€ฆ

Ah, my computer is telling me Iโ€™ve got mail. Itโ€™s another message from George Clooney. I wonder how many smilies Iโ€™ll get today.. ๐Ÿ˜•

By the way, George (as in the real Mr George Clooney), if you are, by any chance, reading this, please, pretty please, post me a smiley.. ๐Ÿ˜‰

โ“ And, in case some of you are wondering just who the heck is Grumpy, click here. Have a nice day! ๐Ÿ™‚

Maloquaciousย ยฉ 2011

17 responses »

  1. I love smileys but i have to tell you i have been spooked by a smiley balloon and since then i am very cautious. SMILEY was a part of my son’s birthday balloon bouquet and was the only survivor after a week. It was floating majestically around the house. One night, when the kids were all in bed and i was by myself in the TV lounge enjoying a movie, I sensed that someone was oggling at me with piercing eyes. So i turn my head, and who do i see staring at me in the dark ???? A very metallic yellow smiley face about 14 inches in diameter…….oooh …And since that day i have had a slightly reserved relationship with smiley!!
    p.s Next day smiley was found brutally stabbed in shreds in the recycling box in my garage (o_o).

    Like

    • OMG, how spooky!! And….whodunit?? Hope you weren’t watching Insidious – ๐Ÿ˜ฏ terrifying!
      Thanks for reading and leaving a comment, Frah.. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

  2. Whenever I draw in my sketchpad, all my good pictures get smiley faces next to them. Like a litte reward for myself for doing a good job. But, when I draw something that doesn’t look good, it gets a frowny face. Sometimes, I draw lots of frowny faces. I’m a bit hard on myself. I was excited when I learned how to make faces on the computer. It’s fun. ๐Ÿ˜›

    Like

    • Snap! …I put smiley faces next to crosswords that I’ve completed and the unsmily faces are next to unsolved word puzzles.. Thank you for reading, Duck, and I totally agree that smilies are indeed a lot of fun! ๐Ÿ˜€

      Like

Aww, thank you for leaving a comment.. Bless you!

